The University of New Mexico Faculty Senate

Meeting Agenda
April 26, 2016
3:00 P.M.
Scholes Hall Roberts Room

3:00 1. Approval of Agenda Action:
Stefan Posse
  2. Acceptance of the March 22, 2016 Minutes Action:
Stefan Posse

3. Posthumous Degree Request for Joshua Duran

Lisa Lindquist, Office of Parent & Family Programs, Dean of Students
3:05 4. Faculty Senate President’s Report Information:
Stefan Posse
3:25 5. Provost's Report Information:
Chaouki Abdallah
3:40 6. Spring 2016 Degree Candidates

Pamela Pyle, Faculty Senate President-Elect

  7. Form C from the Curricula Committee  
  BS-Radiologic Sciences concentration: Nuclear Medicine
F amily and Child Studies
P h.D. in Organization, Information, and Learning Sciences
Master of Arts in Organization, Information, and Learning Sciences
BA Art History
Master of Occupational Therapy
Technical and Professional Communication Certificate
BA Art Studio
BA Media Arts
MPH Master of Public Health
Public Health Subject Code
BA in Communication - Critical Studies in Mass Media
BA in Journalism & Mass Communication - Digital Field Multimedia
BFA Interdisciplinary Film & Digital Media - Critical Studies Concentration
BFA Interdisciplinary Film & Digital Media - Production Concentration
Distributed Minor (in College of Fine Arts)
BA Dance
BA Art Education
BA Design for Performance
B.A. Design for Performance
BA Religious Studies
BA Linguistics & Linguistics Minor
Health, Medicine, and Human Values Joint Requirements
Doctor of Medicine
PharmD/MS dual degree in Pharmaceutical Sciences
Family and Child Studies (FCS) Subject Code
Master of Construction Management
Post-Master's Certificate (NURCP) Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse
MSN Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Concentration

3:42 8.IFDM Core Course IFDM 105L
IFDM Program Core

Miguel Gandert, Distinguished Professor of Communication Journalism
  9.Physics 108 & 108L for UNM Core Action:
Patricia Henning, Professor of Physics & Astronomy

10. Faculty Handbook Policies
C60 Visiting Scholars
C220 Holidays
C225 Professional Leave
C260 Religious Accomodations

Kimberly Gauderman, Faculty Senate Policy Committee Co-Chair

3:55 11. Faculty Survey

Janie Chermak, Faculty Senate Budget Committee Co-Chair

4:15 12. Shared Governance at the University of New Mexico Resolution

Stefan Posse, Faculty Senate President, Operations Committee

4:35 13. FY17 Changes and Open Enrollment/ VEBA Opt-Out

Brenda De La Pena, Manager for Benefits, Employee & Retention Services

4:45 14. New Mexico General Education Redesign

Greg Heileman, Associate Provost for Academic Affairs

4:55 15. New Business  
5:00 16. Adjournment/Social  


1. All faculty are invited to attend Faculty Senate meetings.
2. Full agenda packets are available at
3. All information pertaining to the Faculty Senate can be found at
4. Questions should be directed to the Office of the Secretary, Scholes 103, 277-4664
5. Information found in agenda packets is in draft form only and may not be used for quotes or dissemination of information until approved by the Faculty Senate.