

Faculty Senate Budget Committee

DRAFT 1

Minutes

Monday, March 20, 2017 10:00am – 11:00am ECON 1015

Attendees: (taken from sign-in sheet – for those who signed in)

Robert Gary Anderson School

Janie Chermak Economics

Fran Wilkinson University Libraries
Sally Fortner Anesthesiology

Kramer Woodard Architectures & Planning

Greg Rowangould Civil Engineering

Scott Hughes Law
Christine Delucas Nursing
Norma Allen Budget Office

Excused: Bill Liotta Theater & Dance

Absent: Elizabeth Tigges Nursing

Minutes: Dennis Dunn Office of the University Secretary

Meeting called to order - 10:05am.

Quorum Met.

Introductions made.

1. Meeting Minutes:

February 13, 2017 – Approved.

2. Budget Report:

Norma Allen

• Norma gave a budget update on the Main Campus and the UNM Branch Campuses. For information on the Health Science Center (HSC) Budget she suggested contacting her counterpart, Vanessa Hawker.



Faculty Senate Budget Committee

- The Budget Leadership Team (BLT), and its subcommittees, is the primary work group for the UNM Budget (*See membership list below*). It was originally formed during President Schmidly's term in office.
- BLT Subcommittees:
 - Cost Reduction/Reallocation
 - Tuition & Fee
 - Branch Campuses
 - Long Term Strategic Planning
 - Budget Development

ACTION: Janie asked Norma to email the committee members a list of all the BLT Subcommittees, their charges, and the meeting times of the BLT and subcommittees.

- Issues facing UNM's Budget:
 - State appropriating cut 5% in December 2016
 - Governor and Regents do not want to raise tuition
 - Enrollment is in decline
 - The UNM budget today is in worse shape than in 2008 2009
- Discussion followed as to how the Faculty Senate Budget Committee fits in with the BLT and the issues surrounding the UNM budget.

3. Other Business:

- Janie suggested, due to current UNM budget issues, that the committee members spend the summer thinking of how the Budget Committee's charge could be rewritten.
- Kramer suggested that the committee invite Faculty Senate President Pamela Pyle to attend one of the next two meetings of the Budget Committee. At that time, the committee can ask Pamela what she thinks the committee's purpose is.
- **The Survey. ACTION:** Janie will write a two-page Executive Summary of the survey.
- The Attendance Policy. Two unexcused absences from Budget Committee meetings will result in dismissal from the committee. Faculty President Pamela Pyle agrees with this policy and would select a replacement member. Kramer made the motion to accept the policy and it was unanimously passed.

4. Future Meeting:

May 8, 2017 (Last meeting until Fall 2017).

(All meetings will be from 10:00 am to 11:00 am in ECON 1015, unless notified otherwise).

5. Meeting Adjourned:

11:10 am

Next Meeting:

Monday, March 20, 2017, 10:00am – 11:00am. ECON 1015.



Faculty Senate Budget Committee

Budget Leadership Team (BLT) FY2017-2018

NAME	TITLE
Chairs: (2)	
Chaouki Abdallah	Provost/ EVP for Academic Affairs
David Harris	EVP for Administration
Academic Affairs: (6)	
Terry Babbitt	AVP for Enrollment Management
Robert Berrens	Director: Water Resources
Nicole Dopson	Financial Officer: Provost Office
Monica Orozco	Vice Provost: Extended University
Tim Gutierrez	AVP for Student Services
Janie Chermak	Chair: Department of Economics
Administration: (5)	
Amy Wohlert	Chief of Staff: Office of the President
Norma Allen	Associate Director: Planning, Budget, and Analysis
Duane Arruti	Interim CIO: Information Technologies
Kevin Stevenson	Director of Strategic Projects: Office of the President
Vanessa Hawker	Chief Strategic Advisor: HSC Budget Office
Deans: (5)	
Craig White	Dean of Anderson School of Management
Geraldine Forbes Isais	Dean of School of Architecture and Planning
Joe Cecchi	Dean of School of Engineering
Mark Peceny	Dean of College of Arts and Sciences
Nancy Ridenour	Dean of College of Nursing
Constituency Groups: (5)	
Danelle Callan	Staff Council President
Pamela Pyle	Faculty Senate President
Glenda Lewis	GPSA President
Kyle Biederwolf	ASUNM President
Shawn Berman	Faculty and Staff Benefits Committee