# Faculty Senate Information Technology Committee

Date: 8/28/2019

Location: Scholes Hall Rm. 246

Time: 3p.m.

## Attendees Present:

Voting members: Jennifer Laws (interim chair), Bruce Perlman, Mario Cruz, Trenia Walker

Ex-Officio members: Elisha Allen, Pamela Cheek, Brian Pietrewicz, Duane Arruti

## **Review Committee Charge**

Discussion of need for additional appointments to the committee, in particular branch and student members.

Discussion of spending priorities of UNM for synchronous vs. asynchronous online instruction. Questions about plans for Zoom or other platform for online synchronous instruction. Discussion of lack of ongoing funding for campus-wide Zoom license.

Question about making available IT services for online learning more accessible for our campus community.

### UNM Learning Management System: UNM Learn

Presentation of Elisha Allen's matrix of options related to existing Blackboard contract, the Ally accessibility checker tool, Blackboard Collaborate (classic vs. ultra).

Committee Consensus: extend Blackboard contract for one year beyond current term

## Selection of Permanent Committee Chair for 2019-20

Trenia Walker self-nominated for the position of chair. Bruce Perlman moved for a vote on the nomination. Mario Cruz seconded. Trenia Walker was elected to the position of chair by acclamation.

Meeting ended at 4:30 p.m.