

Research Policy Committee Final

Meeting Minutes Wednesday, May 18, 2022 10:30 – 11:30 AM Via Zoom Video Conference

Voting Members Present: Karl Benedict, Brandon Schmandt, Catherine Roster, Tito Busani, Andrea Polli, Janie Chermak, Laura Banks, Lorenda Belone, Elizabeth (Lisa) Kuuttila

Voting Members Absent: Fabiano Amorim, Marek Osinski, James Blankenship, Terefe Habteyes

Ex-officio, Guests and Minutes: Mary Jo Daniel; Associate VP Research & Econ Development, Gena Garcia (OUS)

Called to order at 10:32am Quorum was met.

- **1. Review and approve agenda** The committee approved May agenda
- 2. Review and approval of minutes Motion and second to approve April minutes

3. Updates:

- a. Membership:
 - Fabiano Amorim-agreed to serve an additional term
 - Tito Busani will be interim chair while Karl is on sabbatical
- b. Subcommittees

Center Review: Fabiano & Terefe willing to co-chair

We will pick up in the Fall with members

- i. Awards
- Andrea is willing to co-chair award subcommittee
- Brandon is willing to co-chair award subcommittee
 - 1. ARL announcement/promotion -



Research Policy Committee

- Mary Jo in OVPR office will send out email reminders for ARL announcement to go out again June 9th and August 16th
- ii. Policy
 - Export Control Policy comments for change were made.
 - A motion to endorse changes was made and approved. <u>https://unmm.sharepoint.com/:w:/t/ResearchPolicyCommitteeFacultySenat</u> <u>e885/EaFPhcXUIBpGpF4bLcw6K6YBPSOzZIxb9zqshuLeolcrew?e=PG</u> <u>Mmmy</u>
- iii. Center Reviews
 - Research Data Policy to move forward to Research Faculty Policy Committee motion was made and approved.

4. New Business

- ACTION Nomination of Tito Busani for RPC Vice Chair/Interim Chair for FY22-23
- Gena to send out a poll to committee members for decision on the best meeting dates and times for next semester.

5. Adjourn

11:23 am

Next meeting

TBD Via Zoom Video Conference