

Research Policy Committee

Meeting Minutes

Friday, February 9, 2024 10:00-11:00am. Via Zoom Video Conference

Voting Members Present: Tito Busani, Sascha Alles, Yemane Asmeron, Fabiano Amorim, Melissa Rethlefsen

Voting Members Absent: Brandon Schmandt, Marek Osinski, Maria Roman, Holly Jacobson

Ex-officio, Guests, and Minutes: Om Perumal, VP Research and Econ. Development, Lisa Kuuttila, Pres./CEO UNM Rainforest Innovations

Called to order at 10:16 am Quorum was met.

• Review and approve agenda

A motion to approve the February agenda was made and approved.

• Review and approval of minutes

A motion to approve the January minutes was made and approved.

E50 Export Control – Jessica Hermosillo

• Covers export control policies. No modifications have been made since Jessica took over the policy. Some policy and regulatory language and faculty format was changed and was approved by the RPC. If there are no other changes by RPC, it will go to the Policy Committee. Tito stated RPC would discuss in closed session today.

New Committee Member- Tito Busani

• Deena Gould to replace Russ Romans. Has not been approved by Faculty Senate as of today.

Center Review Update - Tito Busani

• There is a change to Category III Center that will include HSC and Main campuses to share a Category III Center.



Research Policy Committee

E110 Update - Linda Mayo

- Some changes were made to the policy that worked for both campuses. There are some changes in definitions as well as training information.
- Marek is not present at this meeting so Tito would like to speak to him about the changes.

Subcommittees

- **CERL** Fabiano shared a slide presentation on CERL award candidates.
 - o CERL 2024 recipient, Kimberly Gauderman

Adjourn 10:33

Next meeting March 8, 2024

Via Zoom Video Conference