

# **Research Policy Committee**

**Meeting Minutes** 

Friday, April 12, 2024 10:00-11:00am. Via Zoom Video Conference

**Voting Members Present:** Tito Busani, Marek Osinski, Sascha Alles, Deena Gould, Holly Jacobson, Brandon Schmandt, Fabiano Amorim, Maria Roman, Melissa Rethlefsen

**Voting Members Absent:** Yemane Asmeron

**Ex-officio, Guests, and Minutes**: Rafi Tarefder, Susan Bogus Halter, Greg Trejo, Jason Galloway, Linda Mayo,

Called to order at 10:01 am Quorum was met.

### • Review and approve agenda

A motion to approve the April agenda was made and approved.

# • Review and approval of minutes

A motion to approve the March amended minutes was made and approved.

#### E110 Conflict of Interest-

Linda Mayo answered questions regarding the policy changes. The subcommittee: Marek, Sasha, Melissa and Tito will meet again to discuss changes or revisions to the policy and report back to Linda.

#### **E120 Effort Certification-**

Jason Galloway stated the E120 policy references OMB Circular 821, which is old guidance. The revision was updated to reference Federal Guidance. In closed session, the committee motioned to approve the policy revision.

## Cat. 1 Center

Rafi Tarefder and Susan Bogus Halter propose a Category 1 Center. NM is one of six regions who currently does not have a Category 1 Center to help position UNM to lead research on a national competition for \$30M proposal coming in 2028.

In closed session, the committee motioned to approve the Category 1 Center.

Adjourn 10:57

#### **Next meeting**

May 10, 2024 Via Zoom Video Conference