News and Events

Faculty Senate Meeting

Next Faculty Senate meeting is March 22 in the Robert's Room of Scholes Hall

Archived News

The tradition of faculty governance of the University of New Mexico is found in the Faculty Constitution established in 1949.  The University faculty has broad powers assigned to it by the Board of Regents and the Faculty Constitution and has the right of review and action in regard to the following:

  1. formulation of institutional aims
  2. creation of new colleges, schools, and departments and divisions;
  3. major curricular changes and other matters which in the opinion of the President of the University or his delegate to affect the institution as a whole;
  4. requirements for admission and graduation and for honors and scholastic performance in general;
  5. approval of candidates for degrees (honorary degrees and posthumous degrees);
  6. policies of appointment, dismissal, and promotion in academic rank;
  7. research, and
  8. general faculty welfare.

However, actions taken by the University faculty shall be subject to the authority of the Regents in matters involving finance, personnel, and general University policy. Generally, these responsibilities are carried out by three main faculty governing bodies:

  • The Faculty Senate and its standing committees
  • The Academic Freedom and Tenure Committee
  • The Committee on Governance.